Skip to main content

Posts

Durango

This post is called Durango because that's where I am. Or near enough. We are in a gigantic Airbnb about a 15-minute drive north of Durango, CO for my in-laws' 50th wedding anniversary extravaganza. The whole extended clan is here, extended meaning my in-laws, both their sons, and their families. We had an adventure getting here--our original flight to Denver was canceled, with no explanation, which we discovered at 4:00 the morning we were scheduled to fly at 9. The flight they rebooked us on was unacceptable for a number of reasons and the wait time to talk to an agent was 8 hours. So, after some actually relatively mild freaking out, we booked tickets for the same evening to Phoenix. The flight was smooth enough, we spent the night in a hotel, and drove 7.5  hours the next day, yesterday, to Durango. It was a long drive, but spectacular. We saw cacti and mesas and painted desert, dust storms, rock formations, and tumbleweed. We ate lunch at a truly abysmal Dairy Queen, but w...
Recent posts

Summer. A year later. Today's delight

We have developed a nighttime routine that works (for now!). We do whatever we do that evening (a walk, cook, etc.) and then, if there's time, watch a bit of tv. Maybe we'll have a little snack, maybe we won't. After an episode or so it is time for bed and Matt leaves the couch to grind coffee and prepare the pot for the next morning. (I do my part by staying on the couch cuddling with the dog.) Finally, he takes the dog out while I scoot upstairs and start getting ready for bed. That was background to introduce today's featured topic, which is the delight that is the smell of that coffee. Freshly ground, its smell finds my nose all the way from the kitchen. I have always loved the smell of coffee, since well before I enjoyed the bitter taste. The smell is earthy but also heady. It is perfection. It is ecstasy. It is comfort and excitement. If I happen to be in the kitchen instead of on the couch during coffee-prep time I stick my nose deep into the grinder and breathe ...

Summer?

 Today is the last day of school for both kids. Will is totally done and Ryan's bus will drop him off at around 2:30 and he'll be done. The end of school is always a relief, but this year especially so. It's been hard on all families and I'm sure not many people are sorry to see its end. But I'm also always a little bit sad at the end of the school year, and this year is no different. It will be wonderful not hearing the alarm at 5:45 the next couple of months and it will be sublime not to have to pester anyone about homework or pull off last-minute miracle assists on big projects that I didn't know about before an hour before the deadline. But school is an important element of life for families with kids, and teachers form important relationships with families. I think that's why I edge toward sad at the end of the year. I asked Ryan yesterday if we was even a little, tiny bit sad by school ending and he rolled his eyes back at me bigger than I realized was...

Heart Chakra

 Today's session on Insight Timer was on the heart chakra. As you know, I've had a difficult relationship with my heart recently. So, today's class felt good. I was easily able to visualize the green light of the heart, plus the yellow of the solar plexus, the orange of the sacral, and the red of the root chakra. It was warming and empowering to honor my heart and all that it does. It probably doesn't hurt that I worked out a lot today too, really put my heart to the test. I have to give it credit; it carried me through like a champ. I hope I sleep well tonight as a result! Ryan got dismissed from school a half hour early today because there was a big accident on 95 this morning that affected traffic through Wilmington all day. The district was concerned that the buses would be late from taking high schoolers home, which would push the middle and elementary school schedules even later. So they had high schools release a half hour early (Ryan's in middle school, but ...

My baby is a teenager

Last week was Ryan's birthday and he is now thirteen. We had a nice birthday celebration, including his requested dinner of grilled cheese sandwiches, Kraft Mac & Cheese, and fruit. I was lucky to find very nice strawberries, raspberries, and even peaches at the store. Delicious peaches are hard to come by this time of year. I was gratified by how happy this all made him. We didn't have a birthday party, in part because of the pandemic, but honestly mostly because we've become horribly out of touch with society. I genuinely don't even know who he would invite for a party. He has friends from many different areas of life, but they are not all friends with each other. The good thing is, he's not much of a party kid anyway. We rented "Cruella" on Disney Plus and watched it together as a family on Saturday in lieu of a party. It was a lot of fun. Full-family tv time is rare for us these days and I appreciated it. The movie itself was fine--perfectly enjoya...

Post-Memorial Day Weekend

We took our annual trip to Pittsburgh over this past Memorial Day weekend. We had a fabulous time, as we always do. We missed it last year because of Barcelona, but we would have missed it anyway because of the pandemic. So it was doubly nice to be able to reengage with this lovely tradition. We hung out with our friends, enjoyed their beautiful home and city, and ate so much yummy food. Honestly, my yoga pants are tight today after the long weekend. But believe me, it is worth it. The kids went for a walk on Sunday with our friends' kids, on their own, in downtown Squirrel Hill. It was so nice to be able to give them this freedom. I really wish we could offer something similar here, but we can't. Our town is not set up for walking, whatsoever. It actually makes me mad when I think about it.  There are places we could walk, distance-wise, like the library. But there is no safe way to do it. Why not? Ugh. Why would anyone choose to have to drive somewhere within walking distance...

Another day

I am feeling restless this week, which is not contributing to my peace of mind. I have too little to do for work. Sometimes that's a nice and restful feeling, but when it happens too much I start to feel off kilter and aimless and, unhealthily, worthless. My work schedule is super unbalanced. The fall semester is awful and way too busy while the spring semester tends to be light. On top of that, working from home makes focus difficult. I have a nice work space set up in my bedroom, but there are often people coming and going, or the dog is barking downstairs and needs attention, or I want to be on the sunny deck instead of in my room. I can get stuff done when I need to, but when I don't technically need to ... not much happens. And work wise, that is totally fine. It's not like there's a bunch of stuff I'm neglecting. Obviously, there's always more I could be doing and, according to some, more that I should be doing. But I'm not, at least at the moment. So ...