Skip to main content

Posts

Showing posts from 2018

Bliss

A book, a cup of tea, and two cats on the bed, the sound of happy kids downstairs. There are things that aren’t just right, exactly. The tea is not the tea I wish I had (I have something Chinese; I wanted English tonight). But it’s better than nothing, actually pretty good. The kids are watching tv and have been now for hours, including through dinner. Not my ideal, but we’re all exhausted and school starts soon and I’m just going to let it go. I should have gone running tonight. Or last night. Or the night before. But I did not, I did not, and I did not. Maybe I will tomorrow. But it’s all okay. It’s better than okay. It is bliss. I am under pressure at work. I am assembling my dossier for promotion. It sucks my life away. It isn’t bad when I am in the middle of a task—I can actually get sort of into it. But it needs to be very long and very good and it takes so much time. And we don’t have ample childcare and I still want summer to be fun and airy and I just can’t have everythi...

Wow, 2018

It was 25 degrees this afternoon and I made myself go for a walk and I am so damned proud of myself. It is the last day of break and I needed to get some activity. No, this is not some New Year's resolution or anything of the sort. I just needed to get outside and get some exercise and some chilly, chilly sun. I am trying to approach tomorrow, the return to school and work, with the best possible attitude and health. Exercise is a part of that. Notice I'm also writing? Yeah, that's a part of it too. We have lived our new lives for a number of months now and I am so grateful that we are past worrying about the basics. We know what time to get up, exactly what time we need to leave the house to get the kids to school or the bus stop, what time we need to leave work to be home for them. We know (sort of) what to pack for lunches and how to get homework done before karate or before bed or before the next morning...whatever works on each day. The older kid is happy and the you...